Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Check mark in Microsoft Dynamics NAV Reports


Recently, one of the partners asked me if it is possible to display Boolean fields as check marks in NAV reports. I tried it out and I must say its pretty simple.

I created a new and simple report on Item table with the following dataset:

Untitled1

In the layout design, I used a table control to display the data in the body section and I used a text box control to show the title of the report in the header:

untitled2

Note: To learn how to use a table control see the video: How to: Build a simple list report in Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 

I saved the report and ran it. In the report preview, boolean field values were shown as True/False instead of check mark!

Untitled3

To show the Boolean field as Check mark, I went back to the layout designer and did the following changes:

1. Opened the text box properties for the Boolean field (CostIsAdjusted) and inserted an expression for the value field as shown below:

I changed “=Fields!CostIsAdjusted_Item.Value” to =IIF(Fields!CostIsAdjusted_Item.Value,Chr(254),Chr(168))

Untitled4

2. Changed the font to Wingdings for the Boolean field only:

Untitled5

After these 2 changes, I saved the report and ran it. The preview now displays check marks for Boolean field values:

Untitled6

🙂

More about Microsoft Dynamics NAV reports here

2 thoughts on “Check mark in Microsoft Dynamics NAV Reports”

  1. Hi Suvidha. It’s a long time since you wrote this post but I have just read it. Do you have any idea of why this can work fine in preview but not when you export it to pdf?

    Like

Leave a Reply

